Top 10 Oldest Dinosaur Movies in the World

Are you looking for the top 10 oldest dinosaur movies in the world? Then you came to the right place. In this article, we discussed the top 10 oldest dinosaur movies in the world. Let’s start!

Top 10 Oldest Dinosaur Movies in the Word

Movie Name Released Year
Brute Force 1914
Gertie the Dinosaur 1914
The Dinosaur and the Missing Link: A Prehistoric Tragedy 1917
The Ghost of Slumber Mountain 1918
Three Ages 1923
The Lost World 1925
Flying Elephants 1928
King Kong 1933
The Son of Kong 1933
One Million B.C. 1940

1. Brute Force – 1914

Brute Force is action based silent short film. Directed and produced by D.W. Griffith and distributed by General Film Company. It has 33 minutes of running time.

What was the first dinosaur movie ever?

Brute Force is released on 1914 and it is considering as a first dinosaur movie ever.
Directed and Produced by D. W. Griffith
Starring Robert Harron, Mae Marsh
Cinematography G.W. Bitzer
Distributed by General Film Company
Release dates April 25, 1914
Running time 33 minutes
Country USA

2. Gertie the Dinosaur – 1914

It is released on February 18, 1914, united states. It’s 12 minutes animated short film directed by Winsor McCay.

IMDb rating 7.1/10
Directed by Willis H. O’Brien
Produced by Herman Wobber
Release date 1917
Running time 5 minutes
Country USA
Cast Winsor McCay, George McManus, Roy L. McCardell, Thomas A. ‘Tad’ Dorgan

3. The Dinosaur and the Missing Link: A Prehistoric Tragedy – 1917

It is a 5 minutes silent short film directed by Willis O’Brien and released on 1917.

IMDb rating 6/10
Directed by Willis H. O’Brien
Produced by Herman Wobber
Cinematography by Willis H. O’Brien
Release date 1917
Country USA
Production Companies Conquest Pictures Company & Herman Wobber

4. The Ghost of Slumber Mountain (1918)

The Ghost of Slumber Mountain is a Black and white Indie film. Written and directed by Willis O’Brien. The movie has 40 minutes of running time. Alan V. Day acted as Jacks Nephew, Chauncey A. Day as Jacks Nephew, Herbert M. Dawley  as Uncle Jack Holmes and Willis H. O’Brien as Ghost of ‘Mad Dick’, the Hermit.

IMDb rating 6/10
Directed and Written by Directed Willis O’Brien
Produced by Herbert M. Dawley
Music by Tom Luis
Distributed by
World Film Company
Release date November 17, 1918
Running time 40 minutes

5. The Lost World – 1925

The Lost World is an Adventure, Sci-fi movie released on 2 February 1925 in USA. It is based on “The Lost World” 1912 novel by Arthur Conan Doyle and has 1 hour and 50 minutes running time. Its Budget of $700,000 and Box office was $1.3 million Its produced by Earl Hudson and distributed by First National Pictures.

Starring actors were Bessie Love, Lewis Stone, Wallace Beery, Lloyd Hughes.

Directed by Harry O. Hoyt
Screenplay by Marion Fairfax
Cinematography Arthur Edeson
Edited by George McGuire
IMDb rating 7/10

6. Flying Elephants – 1928

Flying Elephants is a comedy silent film and it has a running time of 17 minutes. Written by Walter Lantz, Hal Roach, H.M. Walker. Filmed from 9 May 1927 to 16 May 1927.

Directed by Frank Butler
Written by Hal Roach, H.M. Walker
Produced by Hal Roach
Distributed by Pathé Exchange
Release date February 12, 1928
IMDb rating 5.9/10

7. King Kong – 1933

King Kong 1933 is an Adventure and Fantasy movie and the running time is 1h 40m. Its Budget was $672,254 and Box office was $5.3 million. Please find more information in the below table,

Directed and produced by Merian C. Cooper, Ernest B. Schoedsack
Screenplay by James Creelman, Ruth Rose
Cinematography Eddie Linden, Vernon Walker, J.O. Taylor
Distributed by RKO Radio Pictures
IMDb rating 7.9/10


8. One Million B.C. – 1940

One Million B.C. is a Fantasy Sci-fi movie, released on 1940 in USA. Directed by Hal Roach and Hal Roach Jr and Distributed by United Artists. Find more details on below table,

Directed by Hal Roach Hal Roach Jr.
Written by Mickell Novack, George Baker, Joseph Fricker
Narrated by Conrad Nagel
Cinematography Norbert Brodine
Running time 80 minutes
Edited by Ray Snyder
IMDb rating 5.7/10

9. Fantasia – Rite of Spring – 1940

Fantasia is an American animated movie, released in 1940. Produced and released by Walt Disney Productions. It is third Disney animated film. Its Budget was $2.28 million and Box office was     $76.4–$83.3 million. Please find more details in below,

Produced by Walt Disney, Ben Sharpsteen
Narrated by Deems Taylor
Cinematography James Wong Howe
Distributed by RKO Radio Pictures
Release date November 13, 1940
IMDb rating 7.7/10

10. Unknown Island – 1948

Unknown Island (1948) is an adventure film released on October 15, 1948 in USA. It has a running time of 75 minutes. Please find more details in the below,

Directed by Jack Bernhard
Produced by Albert J. Cohen
Cinematography Fred Jackman Jr, Robert Gough, Milton Gold
Music by Raoul Kraushaar
Distributed by Film Classics, Inc.
IMDb rating 5.0/10

Reference –

Leave a Comment